American Friends of Musée de Montmartre
AFMM raises awareness among Americans and provide financial support, on a tax-deductible basis, for the Musée de Montmartre.
The Musée de Montmartre is located in old houses on the Butte (hill of Montmartre). These residences, surrounded by gardens, housed the workshops and ateliers of numerous artists such as Auguste Renoir, Émile Bernard, Raoul Dufy, Charles Camoin, Suzanne Valadon and Maurice Utrillo.
The permanent collection is composed of paintings, posters and drawings signed by Toulouse-Lautrec, Modigliani, Kupka, Steinlen, Valadon, and Utrillo. Together, the artworks recount the history of Montmartre, including the innovative studios at Bateau-Lavoir and 12 rue Cortot and the infamous animated cabarets of the Lapin Agile and the Moulin Rouge. The Museum includes an entire room dedicated to the French Cancan, while another features rare zinc plates of dreamlike scenes from shadow theatre such as Le Chat Noir, the first modern cabaret founded by Rodolphe Salis in 1881.
The collection was made possible by the History and Archeology Society “Le Vieux Montmartre”, which itself dates back to 1886.
The Museum of Montmartre was founded in 1960. It was built in the seventeenth century as the Bel Air House and is the oldest building in Montmartre.
During its heyday, 12 rue Cortot served as a residence and meeting place for many artists including Auguste Renoir, Suzanne Valadon and Émile Bernard, who held their studios here, as well as the fauve artists Emile Othon Friesz and Raoul Dufy.
Relive Montmartre's celebrated history through the eyes of Suzanne Valadon during this immersive media show. You will rediscover the atmosphere that dominated the winding streets of the Butte and the famous names that roamed them.
Valadon's humble origins, artistic training, contacts and success make her the perfect guide to introduce the visit and recount the history of Montmartre: she is an allegory of the butte during its effervescence.
The Demarne Hotel opened to the public for the first time on October 17th, 2014. This historic landmark was once the home to Claude de la Rose, the actor from Molière’s troupe whose stage name was Rosimond. It was also within these walls that Père Tanguy, art dealer for several Impressionist painters, lived. The Demarne Hotel has been completely redesigned to accommodate exhibitions of the highest caliber.
In July 2011, the Kléber-Rossillon Company took over the management of the Museum of Montmartre. It launched an ambitious program to expand and restore the site. The project will double the exhibition space, renovate the studio-apartment of the artists Suzanne Valadon and Maurice Utrillo, and remodel the three gardens that inspired Renoir’s paintings on the same subject.
The permanent collection presented here will immerse you in the history of Montmartre and reveal its rich culture. During the 19th century, the landscape of Montmartre began to change. The mills stopped their activity and the vineyards slowly disappeared due to urbanisation. In 1860, Montmartre was annexed to the city of Paris. From this moment on the city imposed itself on the countryside of Montmartre.
Artists started to move to Montmartre in 1870 and the cafes and cabarets multiplied in the 1880’s. What quickly came to characterise Montmartre in the eyes of everyone was this effervescent bohemian spirit, a creative energy.
In 1912 Suzanne Valadon, Maurice Utrillo et André Utter settled into their atelier-apartment and left a symbolic trace at 12 Cortot. Sadly, not much was left of their original workplace, but thanks to its refurbishment, the spirit of the infernal trio has been restored: the frying pan can be found in its place, the mezzanine was rebuilt in the studio, and the walls of Utrillo’s bedroom still have their original panelling and barbed wire on the windows.
To give life to this reconstruction, the company Kléber Rossillon called upon the designer Hubert Le Gall, scenographer who has worked with reknown institutions (Musée d'Orsay, Musée de l'Orangerie, Jacquemart- André museum ...). The original furnishings have disappeared, but Hubert Le Gall was able to recreate the atelier-apartment, faithful to the letters and writings of the time and as portrayed in historical photographes - an ode of the past.
Just steps from the Place du Tertre, three gardens dedicated to Auguste Renoir surround the Museum of Montmartre. They are named in memory of the impressionist painter who lived on-site between 1875 and 1877, where he painted several masterpieces including the famous le Bal du Moulin de la Galette (“The Moulin de la Galette Ball”), La Balancoire (“The Swing”), and Jardin de la rue Cortot (“Rue Cortot Garden”). The Renoir Gardens offer breathtaking views of the vineyard, the Clos Montmartre, and northern cityscape of Paris.
Goal and mission
Clarification for the sponsorhsip:
• The Fondation pour le rayonnement du Musée de Montmartre (FRMM) and Association pour le Rayonnement du Musée de Montmartre (ARMM) are organizations that receive grants in order to support the Musée de Montmartre. The FRMM covers the Museum’s operating costs while the ARMM provides grants on cultural and artistic aspects. These two entities are under the umbrella of the Fondation de France. ARMM can own some artworks, FRMM no.
• The American Friends of Musée de Montmartre is the other structure which can receive grants from American people.
• The Montmartre Museum has as its own legal entity « EURL Saint Jean Saint Vincent » to allow the operation of a Café and a shop.